Gamer-girl-geek

Hi, my name is Dawn and I am a gamer-girl-geek and proud of it. I have been gaming for over 20 years now: RPGs, board, card, PC and console games.

I am currently a member of The Wrecking Crew, senior White Wolf demo team and fell into the position of being the Crew’s net mistress. Mostly I update our Face Book page and Tweet during gaming conventions from both the Crew’s Twitter account and my personal account. My current claim to geek fame is that my name is listed as a play tester (along with most of the rest of the Crew) in Geist the Sin-Eaters and I had my first request for an autograph because of it.

After long thought, I have decided to create a blog. All the cool people are doing it, so I am going to give it a try as well. I have a whole list of topics that I’d like to write and share with whoever stumbles across my blog, most of them gaming related, but some that will be personal.

More about me…

I just celebrated my 18th wedding anniversary. Granted, I was at GenCon on that particular day, while my husband took care of the house and kids. He’s a gamer too, and very supportive of me and my dream to have a career in the gaming industry. We are raising two of the next generation of gamers. In fact, you can find them over on RinCon 10’s website – my husband and son are the first photo in the flickr stream. My daughter can be found later on in the stream, getting ready to play Rock Band with Wil Wheaton (my son and one of his friends also got to play).

My hobbies and interests are myriad and eclectic. I have been a Middle Eastern dancer for over 20 years, and involved in various martial arts for even longer. I have been a member of the Society for Creative Anachronism for over 20 years as well and enjoy both heavy suit fighting and rapier. I am a voracious reader, so much so, that my husband does not like to buy me books anymore because I devour them in a single evening. I am also an artist in various mediums including, but not limited to, watercolor, photography, jewelry making, silk painting and graphic art. In fact, the background image for this blog is one of my own creations – I’m just a Toreador at heart.

Leave a Reply

